One of my kind.

December 24, 2010 § Leave a comment


“It was Christmas eve babe, in the drunk-tank, an old man said to me, you won’t see another one.” The Pogues – Fairytale of New York.

If I see or hear another piece of writing, or news report, or radio report or even conservation that starts “well, it’s that time of year again” I’m going to fucking scream. This time of year happens every year, you think that they would have thought of something to better to say by now, but who am I to bitch and moan. It worries me that the greatest invention of the last 20 years, the internet, this beautiful thriving opportunity for knowledge and communication has become, for some people at least, just a platform for very sad people to bitch and moan about the smallest of problems, apparently some people have real problems. But shit, I suppose that whole sentence underlines my point.

Christmas time grows up with you doesn’t it? When your a child it’s rare and sacred, it’s that magical thing that took away school and replaced it with shiny new things. It kept you up with excitement and the folklore and films and the madness. When your young it’s the promised land. It’s magic. It’s what every child looks forward to. But then you grow up and it stops being about the madness and the magic, its stops being about presents and starts being about seeing your family because you spent another year fucking around. Time to calm down from another mad year.

It’s strange being back without Maxi. Christmas time would be when we would all get together and get shitfaced. It’s been a strange year. I’m glad to be honest that I’ve had this mad log of it. Even if some of the posts were done while blind drunk. I often wonder how I will look back at this period of my life then I just get distracted and think about something else. I want to thank everyone who has posted comments, sent emails or even read the insanity. It’s nice to know someone’s reading. Thank you. I will have lots of new stories in the new year, I fear that the older I get the more insane things I will have to do to feel young again. But that will result in stories. So here’s to us. Merry Christmas one and all.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One of my kind. at No Longer an Astronaut..

meta

