What if?

April 14, 2012 § 1 Comment


“I found my fickle friend out in the alleyway.” – Kevin Devine – Just Stay. 

Sometimes I wonder, if I tried really hard, if I would be able to learn how to dodge bullets like these. If every moment gazing, or performing useless tasks with no payment or pay out, was used instead on some steady focus. The attempting of some seemingly impossible task. How far would I get? No one’s perfect. It’s a fact. But it’s also something lots of people hide behind. “No one’s perfect!” They’ll say as they drop the ball on a catch they probably should have made. No one’s 100 percent. We get that. But don’t hide behind it. It’s no excuse.

What about those times when we awake near the bottom of barrel? When the heads all messy and starts turning tricks. What if every time I woke like that I strived to make count the cloudy head and spent liver. What if every second spent asking “What if?”? Indeed. What if?

 

§ One Response to What if?

  • AguessT says:

    This post is fantastic. I don’t know why, however, it makes me recall a lyric: “Money for nothing … chicks for free”, or something to that effect.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What if? at No Longer an Astronaut..

meta

